Campus News
Muskingum in the News
Campus Events
Athletic News
News Archives
Commencement Archives
Contact Public Relations
Return to Archive Index

Muskingum College announces selections for 2003 Summer Fellows Program

MAY 15, 2003 - Twelve Muskingum College students will work with eight different faculty members this summer on a wide and complex variety of projects as part of the college's 2003 Summer Fellows Program.

The Summer Fellows program at Muskingum, now in its fourth year, allows students and faculty to immerse themselves in the pursuit of highly specific and challenging areas that they are studying as students. To be considered for a fellowship, students must write a detailed proposal of what they intend to study and what they hope that study will achieve. This is done in tandem with the faculty members with whom they intend to work, and who must provide the formal nomination for the fellowship.

Proposals are then considered by the office of the vice president of academic affairs for approval.

This summer, the following students and faculty will conduct fellowships:

Stephanie Bear '04 and Associate Professor of Geology Dr. Eric Law will research volcanic rock from a lamprophyre dike in Johnstown, Vermont.

Christopher Hiner '05 and Associate Professor of Geology Dr. Eric Law will do a survey of radon gas concentration in New Concord soil and rock by testing of radon in area homes.

Eli Hacker '05 and Associate Professor of Biology and Director of Conservation Studies Dr. James Dooley will study the capture-recapture of wild animals and the community structure of turtle populations at The Wilds, an internationally recognized wildlife preserve in Cumberland, Ohio.

Ala Iaconi '07 and Associate Professor of Chemistry Dr. Lois Zook will conduct electrochemical experiments on the per fluorinated ion exchanged polymer Nafion(TM).

Nikhilendra Singh '05 and Associate Professor of Chemistry Dr. Lois Zook will conduct studies of bimetallic catalysts in fuel cell systems.

Joseph Seaman '07 and Associate Professor of Chemistry Dr. Lois Zook will characterize the transport mechanisms for ion flux in polymeric systems.

Heather Nees '06 and Assistant Professor of Chemistry Dr.Paul Szalay will investigate materials for the ability to purify water through metal ion sequestration.

Kylie Peters '05 and Charlotte Worstall '05, with Assistant Professor of Political Science Dr. Walter Huber, will conduct collaborative research and coauthor two papers: Social Capital Within the University: Size Reconsidered and Budget Maximization and Citizen Control: A Comparative Analysis of the 50 U.S. States.

Daniel Shuey '06 and Professor of Speech of Communication and Theatre Dr. Jerry Martin will write special scripts to address the needs of young students and senior citizens to be used by the John and Annie Glenn Historic Site.

R. Nyle Strain, III '05 and Professor of Sociology Dr. Steve McGuire will research the effect of the decline of the pottery industry in Zanesville.

Betsy Zunk '07 and Assistant Professor of Geology Dr. Stephen Van Horn will research the petrology of Pennsylvanian sandstones in southern Ohio.